The anniversary program 25 Years Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg will present the most comprehensive overview of the collection to date. Founded in 1994, the collection now unites more than 600 installations, work groups, and individual works by 100 artists.



the exhibition

The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg is well known for its thematic and monographic exhibitions: The high-quality collection of the Kunstmuseum is, however, still relatively unknown. We want to change this and so, to kick off the anniversary program 25 Years Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg, we will present the most comprehensive overview of the collection to date. Founded in 1994, the collection now unites more than 600 installations, work groups, and individual works by 100 artists. The key year for the starting point of the collection is 1968. Nearly all the works included here were created after this epoch-making turning point. We will present this extraordinary panorama (as with Wolfsburg Unlimited in 2016) in all available exhibition spaces of the museum, including the studio and foyer levels—and even that will not be nearly enough to adequately present all the important installations and works of art that the collection holds in store. In the best case, our visitors will be simply amazed by all the treasures of contemporary art to be discovered in this exhibition. The spectrum of artistic expression ranges from Franz Ackermann and Firelei Báez to Elizabeth Peyton and Thomas Zipp, and the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg is also teeming with numerous surprises. For, despite a steadily dwindling acquisitions budget, the collection has managed to expand substantially in recent years—above all with global, female, and political positions.

the artists in the exhibition

Franz Ackermann, Doug Aitken, Nobuyoshi Araki, Firelei Báez, Christian Boltanski, Tony Cragg, Burhan Dogancay, Ólafur Elíasson, Gilbert & George, Gauri Gill, Liam Gillick, Douglas Gordon, Andreas Gursky, Brian Harte, Jeppe Hein, Georg Herold, Rebecca Horn, Pieter Hugo, Gary Hume, Anselm Kiefer, Imi Knoebel, Jeff Koons, Jannis Kounellis, Pia Linz, Joseph Marioni, Rémy Markowitsch, Mario Merz, Radenko Milak, Maurizio Nannucci, Bruce Nauman, Nam June Paik, Verner Panton, Elizabeth Peyton, Daniel Pflumm, Julius Popp, Prajakta Potnis, Neo Rauch, Tobias Rehberger, Thomas Schütte, Mithu Sen, Cindy Sherman, Beat Streuli, Philip Taaffe, Fiona Tan, Sam Taylor-Johnson, Luc Tuymans, Jeff Wall, Jonathan Wateridge, Tim Wolff, Erwin Wurm, Thomas Zipp.

the catalog

With 100 international authors—curators, museum directors, collectors, artists, professors, and architects—the lavishly designed and richly illustrated catalog book Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. The Collection, edited by Ralf Beil and Holger Broeker and designed by Lena Mozer, provides a multi-faceted, overall picture of the collection of the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. Separate German and English editions of the catalog will be published, featuring essays by Ralf Beil and Holger Broeker, as well as texts on each artistic position by, among others, Lucía Aguirre, Stephan Berg, Hubert Besacier, Katja Blomberg, José Miguel G. Cortés, Bice Curiger, Edith Devaney, Régis Durand, Charles Esche, Andreas Fiedler, Ursula Frohne, Gérard Goodrow, Stefan Gronert, Ulrike Groos, Fabrice Hergott, Chrissie Iles, Roobina Karode, Thomas Köhler, Luc Lambrecht, Simon Lamunière, Christiane Lange, Rita Lougares, Annelie Lütgens, Sebastian Lux, Francis Outred, Peter Pakesch, Julia Peyton-Jones, Keith Scott Hartley, Christoph Heinrich, Helen Hirsch, Letizia Ragaglia, Matthias Sauerbruch, Dieter Schwarz, Ellen Seifermann, Reinhard Spieler, Michael Stoeber, Annette Tietenberg, Gijs van Tuyl, Hilke Wagner, Ulrich Wilmes, and Thomas Zaunschirm.

Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. The Collection is an integral component of the anniversary program 25 Years Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg.