mission statement

Art is enthusiasm, and art is knowledge. The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg wishes to share this knowledge. It strives to be a place of identification for the citizens of the city and the region and, of course, also wants to appeal to international visitors. It wants to take an artistic look at the world from the standpoint of Wolfsburg in order to contribute to an understanding of global events in all their complexity with the help of current art themes. The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg wishes to inspire and to build bridges with art. With contemporary digital strategies, it strives to communicate its contents to the widest possible audience, arouse curiosity, and inspire enthusiasm for (inter)active encounters with art.

The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg intends to further expand its significance with a scholarly and curatorially ambitious exhibition program. The central starting point is both the high-caliber collection and an independent program that focuses on contemporary art, but also takes positions of classical modernism into account in order to open up larger cultural contexts for the public.

As a place of cultural education for all, the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg aims to be a meeting place for people from a wide variety of social backgrounds, with fascinating artistic positions and themes of global relevance. The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg strives to be a place where visitors can feel at home at their own level of knowledge through differentiated offerings of information, where they can learn interesting facts about art, culture, and society and also make emotional experiences. At the same time, it also sees itself as a critical analyst and companion of global developments

The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg strives to be an open, vital, and dynamic place of art and culture for everyone.


The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg is a privately-sponsored museum supported by the non-profit Kunststiftung Volkswagen. The project was able to get underway thanks to start-up funding provided by Volkswagen, the city of Wolfsburg and private donors. The subsequent building and the museum’s operation expenses are financed by the Kunststiftung Volkswagen. A large part of its funds come from the foundation of Asta and Christian Holler, the founders of Volkswagen-Versicherungsdienst VVD. In recent years the Kunstmuseum has also received project-based support from Volkswagen Financial Services AG.

The collection

The Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg has been collecting international contemporary art since 1994. A solid foundation was laid with key works from the field of Minimal Art, Conceptual Art and Arte Povera. Works by a younger generation of artists were subsequently added. It was never the intention to assemble a broad encyclopedic collection, focusing instead on prominent major works, ensembles and work phases in addition to the exemplary presentation of artistic developments. The result is not a documentation of so-called “currents” but concentrates instead on artists and artworks representing important aspects of contemporary art. The collection presently encompasses circa 400 works or ensembles.

Artists Represented in the Collection (A Selection)

Franz Ackermann, Doug Aitken, Carl Andre, Nobuyoshi Araki, John M Armleder, Katie Armstrong, Richard Artschwager, Awst & Walther, Caroline Bachmann & Stefan Banz, Christian Boltanski, Stanley Brouwn, Hussein Chalayan, Tony Cragg, René Daniëls, Jan Dibbets, Burhan Doğançay, Olafur Eliasson, Helmut Federle, Peter Fischli/David Weiss, Gilbert & George, Douglas Gordon, Paul Graham, Andreas Gursky, Brian Harte, Eberhard Havekost, Jeppe Hein, Georg Herold, Gary Hill, Damien Hirst, Rebecca Horn, Pieter Hugo, Gary Hume, Jörg Immendorff, Christian Jankowski, Sergej Jensen, Johannes Kahrs, Gert Jan Kocken, Peter Keetman, Anselm Kiefer, In Sook Kim, Imi Knoebel, Gert Jan Kocken, Ola Kolehmainen, Jeff Koons, Jannis Kounellis, Imi Knoebel, Robert Lebeck, Pia Linz, Michael Majerus, Joseph Marioni, Rémy Markowitsch, Maix Mayer, Allan McCollum, Gerhard Merz, Mario Merz, Sarah Morris, Maurizio Nannucci, Bruce Nauman, Nam June Paik, Panamarenko, Verner Panton, Manfred Pernice, Elizabeth Peyton, Daniel Pflumm, Julius Popp, Neo Rauch, Tobias Rehberger, Thomas Schütte, Cindy Sherman, Beat Streuli, Philip Taaffe, Sam Taylor-Johnson, James Turrell, Luc Tuymans, Jeff Wall, Lawrence Weiner, James Welling, Tim Wolff, Erwin Wurm, Thomas Zipp.